

COQUITLAM MINOR HOCKEY ASSOCIATION

58[™] ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

<u>VIA ZOOM – MAY 11, 2021</u>

The meeting was called to order at 7:45 p.m. by Chairman for the Meeting Brian Keenan. Brian is a Past President of CMHA, previous member of Coquitlam Sport Council Advisory Group, current member of Coquitlam Sports Centre Users Association and current CMHA member.

Thank you to Eryn Tite who provided technical assistance with the virtual meeting necessitated due to Public Health Order gathering restrictions. Scrutineers for the meeting are Tracy Cimaglia, Tracy Grisdale and Deb Mueller.

Roll Call of Current Executive Present: Steve Adrain, President; Lana Morrison, 1st and 4th VP; Tami Lawrence, 2nd VP; Jolene Allegretto 3rd VP; Hank Sam, Treasurer; Cate Takemori, Risk Manager; Kelly Lawrence, Head Coach; Lyle Haylock, Equipment Manager; Ivana Smolcic, U7 Coordinator; Sandra Aubertin, U11 Coordinator; Kylee Desharnais, U13 Coordinator; Michele Mackenzie, U15 Coordinator; Glen Bailey, U18-U21 Coordinator.

Confirmation that 125 members logged in at the start of the meeting adhering to the quorum requirement of 50 members.

Chair advised that voting will be done through polls and a practice poll was demonstrated calling the meeting to order. Members have 90 seconds to register their vote once a motion has been made. System will capture the number of votes and percentage, but does not capture names of participants in this process.

Chairman advised that given this virtual meeting format, questions from the floor will be taken via the chat function.

Chairman addressed an issue that rumours circulating with respect to a Presidential Suspension put in place in accordance with CMHA Bylaws. This AGM is not an opportunity for discussion of this matter and privacy must be respected for all involved. No questions relative to this issue will be addressed. This is a matter for the newly elected board to investigate, evaluate and take appropriate action in due course.

Motion to accept the minutes of the 57th Annual General Meeting held July 21, 2020. Moved by Sandra Aubertin, second by Ivana Smolcic. 100 votes in favor (96%); 4 votes opposed (4%). Carried.

Hank Sam presented recap of season highlights and challenges, financial statements for the season 2020/2021 season, the budget for the 2021/2022 season and confirmed that

registration fees will be unchanged for the upcoming season. Hank addressed various questions from members and committed to respond directly where immediate answers were not available. At this point discussion moved to presentation of the new jerseys design and apparel mockups. Lyle, Cate, Brian and Hank addressed questions from members relative to cost of replacement jerseys, rebranding decisions and expected timelines in order to have new jerseys in time for the start of the new season.

Motion by Sandra Aubertin, second by Eryn Tite to accept the financial statements as presented. 90 votes in favor (78%); 26 opposed (22%). Carried.

No correspondence to enter into minutes.

Proposed resolutions to CMHA Bylaws withdrawn in response to member feedback and to allow the newly elected board to determine the direction for the association.

Election of officers for contested positions of President and Equipment Manager held. Candidates were given the opportunity to address members and respond to questions. Kelvir Fong withdrew his nomination for the Equipment Manager position. Voting poll presented for the position of President (candidates Lana Morrison and Rubin Prince). Results Rubin Prince elected President with 68 votes (54%); Lana Morrison 57 votes (46%).

Motion by Sandra Aubertain, second by Ivana Smolcic to allow electing uncontested Board of Director roles as a slate. 78 votes in favor (72%); 31 votes opposed (28%). Carried.

Motion by Sandra Aubertain, second by Ivana Smolcic to elect the nominees for uncontested Board of Directors as posted in the Director Nomination Document (amended to withdraw Ryan Bailey from the Referee in Chief position as he is not yet 19). 94 votes in favor (89%); 12 opposed (11%). The following individuals were congratulated and welcomed to the 2021/22 Board of Directors for Coquitlam Minor Hockey Association:

Rubin Prince, President; Sandra Aubertin 4th VP; Hank Sam, Treasurer; Natasha Prokosh, Parent Auxiliary; Bernard Keller, Risk Manager; Kelly Lawrence, Head Coach; Linda Morales, Equipment Manager; Ivana Smolcic, U7 Coordinator; Kylee Desharnais, U13 Coordinator; Chris Dane, U18 Coordinator

Life Member Awards presented to Steve Adrain, Michele Mackenzie, Lyle Haylock, Lana Morrison and Glen Bailey to honor their years of service to CMHA.

Brian Keenan thanked the existing team for their hard work during a very challenging year. He reminded the membership of the positions still available and encouraged volunteers to step forward.

Motion by Sandra Aubertain, second by Cate Takemori to adjourn. Votes in favor 83 (89%); votes opposed 10 (11%). Meeting adjourned at 10:02 p.m.